Because who doesn't like staring at the ceiling fan?

Unf, Dat Plot

You guys. I have no idea what this outline is doing. lol

Peeps gone missing. New roomie getting all attacked by werewolves and not freaking out about it as much as she should (because, you know, she almost died). Divorces. Strangely attractive lone wolves. Sudden interest in sexytiems from my male lead (he’s been resisting up until this point).

As I look over it tonight, I also notice there’s no discernible timeline. I mean, yes, there’s a general character development thing happening, but I mean actual day/week time. I have absolutely no idea what the time span is for these events. At one point I wrote that the roomie went away for a weekend and I was like… are we even at a weekend yet? What is going on here? I don’t even know.

That could even be a good thing, though. Maybe I’ll just let it go on its merry little way into some dark, sinister forest path that leads to doom and evil rainbows. With fluffy killer bunnies. Because I can.

Kidding! …. maybe >.>

Still don’t know who my bad guy is. That’s alright. He or she (or it) will reveal themselves at some point. I’ve been toying with the possibility that the antagonist could be human this time around. Nothing scarier than a vanilla human with a fanatic drive to make the world right, eh? Damned werewolves all up in his homeland making life difficult. Get off my lawn!

Those of you that are plotting, how are your efforts coming along? Got some nice research? Mapped out some scenes? Organized your note cards? Had a panic yet about whether or not to even do your planned story?

I need chocolate.

7 responses

  1. emiliehardie

    I have the opposite problem: I know exactly what I want to happen, I just keep getting stuck with working out how to get from point A to point B.

    Also, definitely on the humans being scarier, particularly if they can beat supposedly scarier supernatural creatures.

    October 10, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    • I had that problem with the first book. I knew what my general ending was going to be, and a vague idea of how to get there, but I played hit and miss with all the scenes leading up to the ending. Of course I pantsed that novel. That’s why I’m trying this outline thing now so that I don’t get as frustrated with book 2.

      I asked the nice people of G+ what they thought about a human baddie, what he might look like based on a short description of personality from me, and I got some good plot bunnies out of it. Think I’ll toy with the humans today in my outlining.

      October 11, 2012 at 10:21 am

  2. Nice plot idea but I don’t like much werewolves nowadays because Twilight and other similar books.

    My plot is going forward because I found my main character: man who is losing everything. His wife died last year and now he must take care his 16-years-old daughter alone. Also his one-man-company is going bad and he can’t get enough money to feed himself and his daughter.

    I don’t yet know where my characters will live but maybe it will be England, Finland or Japan. I know best Finnish society but it will be nice to write that they live in some other country. Which country would you choose?

    Last, don’t eat too much chocolate. I make this mistake once and I’ll never ever eat chocolate again.

    October 11, 2012 at 3:22 am

    • The options for your homeless characters will vary from country to country, so I’d say stick with Finland since you know that best. Also, I haven’t read very many stories set in Finland. That could be a selling point for you!

      October 11, 2012 at 10:22 am

  3. Oh I love the plotting stage so much ❤ Way more than the editing stage *beats up the editing stage*

    Good luck in NaNo! I'm still debating whether or not I should join this year. I may need some time off after I finally finish these edits.

    October 11, 2012 at 8:01 am

    • You know you want to 😉 Do eeeeeeeeeet!

      October 11, 2012 at 10:26 am

  4. NOW i get it… Sorry Sarah, i’m new at this.
    So this is you, out from G+… Lesson learned.
    Rebecca, Just play it out. it will be fun for you and for us! After all, writers write!!
    Sarah, third person works just fine with me. Wish some people were as flexible!
    Happy typing y’all
    — Lewis

    October 11, 2012 at 1:37 pm

Leave a Reply

