Because who doesn't like staring at the ceiling fan?

Please Sir, Can I Trope Some More?

In which I let you know all my secrets.  The ones having to do with werewolves, anyway.

So that this doesn’t become one massive wall of text, I’ll break it up into a few posts.  There will be one post for each topic:

  • The Moon
  • Wolf Form
  • Regeneration
  • The Pack

The post about the pack may or may not get a little lengthy… it’s hard to contain the intricacies of werewolf pack dynamics, function, and politics within one post, but I’ll certainly try.

What I want to know from you all is this: what are your favorite werewolf tropes?  Which ones do you want to see disappear forever from movies and novels?  Are there any you think hold promise, but haven’t lived up to your expectations?

Trope: a common or overused theme or device. Cliché.

3 responses

  1. hubbs

    Silverbullets. Gone.
    Howling at the moon. Gone
    I prefer Lycanthropes over traditional werewolves, meaning more involuntary shapeshifting and less voluntary.
    I’d also like to see more werewolves get stuck in between man and wolf as a result of something gone wrong (half-bite, half-moon, etc.) These could be really ugly creatures.

    April 30, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    • Cindy mentioned the silver bullet thing over on G+. I agree that one has pretty much run its course (people ran with the allergy thing for a while to explain it).

      I like your thinking on the “something gone wrong.” With all those werewolf superpowers, you’d think something catastrophic like that would happen specifically because of their abilities. Imma talk a little about that when I get to the “Regeneration” post. There’s a lot of potential there for writers and filmmakers to pick up if more of them would break the mold.

      April 30, 2012 at 11:24 pm

  2. I have to say I’m sick of werewolves retaining wolf social heirarchy when in human form. I think this has evolved as a result of more fictional werewolves being born half wolf, rather than the old skool “bitten by the beast”. Like Hubbs says, more involuntary. Less doglike when transformed.

    April 30, 2012 at 11:25 pm

Leave a Reply

