Because who doesn't like staring at the ceiling fan?

Write On

There are many strange things residing in my imagination.  You know, besides werewolves.  A lot of it is action-packed, violent (gory, even), emotional, dramatic, and downright hilarious.  I think to myself, self, what kinds of things do I like to read?  Do more of that.  What do I not like to read?  Do less of that.  This means I have some seriously kick ass scenes waiting to be put into print, or already in print and awaiting more attention, but it also means that between those exciting scenes is a lot of filler I don’t really want to write (at least until I figure out how to make it interesting).  For those of you who haven’t figured it out yet, I have a raging case of ADD.  As a result, I have many more abandoned projects than completed projects.

There aren’t many works-in-progress that have made it past the 20k mark (my general stuck point), but once something flies over that mark I have officially confirmed interest in it as a completed novel.  Lucky for you guys there are more than one of those sitting around in various stages of completion.  If you’re wondering what goes on in my imagination, this is it:

WEREWOLVES

Novel 1: What happens if a college girl has a one night stand with a werewolf?  Mass murder, that’s what.
Title: Dominance
Progress: Final stage of revisions. 90k.
What next?: Send it out into the world to find its mate (publishers) and reproduce (money!).

Novel 2: Sequel to novel 1. Mallory hasn’t learned that avoiding responsibility gets her into bigger trouble. She leaps out of the werewolf frying pan into the dragon fire.
Title: ??
Progress: 13k nail-biting words (out of 90k? 100k? 120k?)
What next?: Finish it? lol

BABYSITTERS

Novel 1: Who knew a temp job could be so dangerous?
Title: ??
Progress: Rough draft. 55k.
What next?: First round of edits.

CYBORGS

Novel 1:  As yet unnamed cyborg girl comes to life in an off-grid laboratory, intent on avenging her own death.  Unfortunately, the world has other plans.
Title: ??
Progress: 34k (out of 90-120k)
What’s next?: Figure out where I was going with it and finish.

There is  one more project which hasn’t yet made it past the 20k mark, but it also won’t get out of my head.  I have a fantastic character ready to go (and a hella interesting beau for her) but no story for her rock a presence.  There hasn’t been that “click” moment to give me that jump I need in motivation, and without that, she’ll just continue to live in my imagination and the small scene snippets I’ve written out.  All I can say about her is that she has the ability to see raw magic, and it isn’t because of an advanced human trait, special lineage, or anything like that.  She can see raw magic because of a genetic defect.

Now, on to finish my revisions.

Sarah 🙂

2 responses

  1. Sounds like you have a lot on your development slate. I’ve got a week with Mrs Dim next week, when she’s going to help me prioritise all the projects that have piled up while I’ve been going out to work in the Real World, so that when I go back to being a full-time writer (for the Summer, at least) then I’ll be able to get stuff finished. That should mean a couple of one act plays, a couple of full length pieces and uploading at least two novels onto KDP. And maybe I’ll find a way to earn some money over here in Canada too, rather than just the UK funds that pile up in my publisher’s account…
    Like the look of your blog!

    April 27, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    • Sounds like you’re a fellow busy bee! 🙂 A writer’s work is never done, eh?

      Thanks for the compliment, btw. I’m still playing with the site design, so if you have any suggestions let ’em loose!

      April 27, 2012 at 12:17 pm

Leave a Reply

