Because who doesn't like staring at the ceiling fan?

Nope Nope Nope

Meant to do a post last week. Totally forgot. It’s not even that I don’t have things to write about, because I do. Many, many things (just ask my followers on G+. heh). I think what it comes down to is I need to make a schedule for myself and stick to it. The reasons why, beyond simple remembrance to blog every now and then, will become clear in a moment.

I recently participated in a Pitch Madness contest on Twitter. The idea is to pitch your novel in 140 characters, minus the number needed for the hashtags you use, and see if you can catch the attention of an agent. I caught the attention of two junior agents at the same agency with this simple sentence:

“One night stand with a werewolf… what could possibly go wrong?”

Cheeky, and implies a fun tone to the novel. The only problem is, my novel is pretty dark. Yes, the protagonist has some serious laugh out loud moments throughout, but overall it’s not as lighthearted as that sentence makes it sound. People die. Blood happens (a lot). There are some seriously tense adult scenes. Hell the alpha meeting alone would drive off the faint of heart, and that happens in chapter 5.

Ultimately, I was turned down after submitting partials, but what made me decide to take a second look at my query letter and synopsis was the encouragement from one of the agents to keep submitting. She specifically mentioned that she wasn’t very into my werewolf politics: it wasn’t what she was hoping for out of the story, but I should keep seeking representation. To me, that says that the pitch and query weren’t properly constructed to tell an agent what’s in the manuscript. I gave her the wrong idea, and it cost me an opportunity.

So there’s that to work on. I also participated in ePublish Unum’s most recent Books and Beer hangout, and made the outlandish claim that I could plot, write, and start revising the sequel to my werewolf novel by early spring. Heh. So I guess that means I’m now publicly accountable to actually get that done. Full writing schedule, engage! Weeeeeee.

Be back to update you guys in a few days. Yes, a few days, and not a few weeks as keeps happening. That’s because I’m going to sit down and do what I said I’d do at the beginning of this post: make a freaking writing schedule! No more procrastinating! :)

4 responses

  1. Hey, no worries, public accountability is totally a good thing!

    September 22, 2012 at 11:46 pm

    • Yes, yes it is :)

      September 23, 2012 at 11:31 am

  2. Great having you on the show, Sarah. Now get back to writing.

    September 23, 2012 at 10:17 am

    • Yessir! <3

      September 23, 2012 at 11:32 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers